Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Grundig 5008

I'm soon to receive this radio from a friend. I don't know what shape it is in but I have NEVER worked on a Grundig before. As I understand, it has BC, SW, and FM bands. I'd appreciate any hints/tips/warnings/heads up on this set. I THINK it is a USA version but will have to wait for a bit to know. I believe there is a European version on this model as well.

Any help would be appreciated.

Art

Art

Those are as much as tube radios as any Philco.
You will likely encounter a Selenium penal-box type rectifier. It might be still good.
Other than the dial pointer being this belt-pulley concoction.....nothing special.

And (good news) - no caps to re-stuff. And (likely) the only ones needing replacements could be the lytics (I would check the paper caps in case they did go bad but likely not, those are newer types. But even if they are). Lots of caps will be molded mica types, possibly some oil.....those are good.

And them Grundigs sound very good for their table size...sometimes surprisingly good.

Pots will be scratchy, both tone control and volume. Keys switching bands might need lubrication, plus they often crack.
Depending on which eye tube they use...vertical miniature type or old 6E5 style....you might have to purchase that one.

Unless it was abused I do not see a huge project.

morzh,
Do you have any idea the date of manufacture? It has the civil defense triangles on the BC band so it's after 1953. I'm guessing early '60s...

Took delivery today. The cabinet will need lots of work. Has had water drip on it I think. Bottom plywood has delaminated and the pretty top veneer is mostly loose. Glue injection coming up. Power cord was cut off.

The chassis has a little corrosion and a little rust. I've seen worse. Ferrite antenna has broken off the little connector wire but IS present. I don't see evidence of hot spots but don't know about the transformer yet.