Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Parmak 1929 Help

I have this Parmak 1929  ( no documentation that I can find) I've been ignoring for quite a while and I'm finally getting around to working on it. I have it all cleaned up checked all the coils, tubes replaced the one cap that was  5mf and replaced the wires in the harness that were crumbling. I have no experience at all with battery sets but all of the leads were marked except one. Here is what I have.
A- Black   (goes to chassis) 
B+ power Blue   (goes to speaker)
B+90 Brown
B+ Det  Yellow
C-         Grey
C+ Green   ( goes to Chassis)
And one red lead which goes to one side of the heaters the heaters would this be A+?
Also don't see a B- ?

It looks as thought I will need 3 voltages?

A, B, and C  How would they be connected?
and at what voltages?
The tubes are 5v heaters 5-01A and 1-171
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Eric

Attached Files Image(s)

Hey Eric
How's things down in Cumming,Ga? Well looks like you got a good handle on the wiring. Yes the red wire is A+. Would bet that  A-,B-, and C+ are all tied back to the chassis.
I would check the resistance across the audio transformers to be sure that both pri and sec are good not open. The wire coming from the plate pin of the 71A will need to go though a high impedance spkr or a tube type output transformer to a pm spkr. Blue wire from the transformer ( you don't have yet) goes to the 71A plate lead and the red wire goes to HV. The 71A can take up to 180vdc on the plate. Will work fine of 135 or 90v. Hope I've answer all your question for now.
GL
Terry

Sorry I forgot about the bottom part of your post

A- Black   (goes to chassis)  - 4 to -6 vdc @ 1.5A (each tube uses 250ma )

B+ power Blue   (goes to speaker)   +90 to 180vdc
B+90 Brown  +90vdc (HV for the RF stages)
B+ Det  Yellow  +22vdc  the minis side connects to chassis
C-         Grey  depends on how much hv you are using on the 71A  -18vdc