Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

1937 Truetone D-699 help?

Is the speaker for this type of radio a hard to find item?  Is the radio a rare one?  It's near Chicago and I'd like to buy it, if the speaker is available, but would need to find someone to ship it thru Greyhound for me.....seller won't ship...

Steve, attached is hopefully the proper schematic. It has a field coil speaker which may be a challenge to find without a donor chassis but not impossible.
Best, Jerry

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/pagesbymodel...023611.pdf

A friend in need is a pest!  Bill Slee ca 1970.

Jerry,
Unfortunately, I'm not good with the electronics part of radios. Is this a speaker that may have been used on other, more common radios? I can't imagine there are many Truetone consoles laying around out there... I really like the cabinet and dial on this radio, but the logistics on getting it to California, may be daunting.......Thanks for the help.
Steve

Steve, i'm not the sharpest knife on the Phorum, it is an 8" speaker with a field coil. The manufacture made radios under a number of names. Very attractive cabinet. It would no doubt cost more to get it to you than the price of the radio. Most people use Greyhound for delivery, cheaper, slower but a lot less handling. Not certain where Sanger is located or where the radio is located. I thought I knew most of CA. We are now in Placentia (Orange County). If the radio is relative close to you, time for a drive. Notice the schematic is Western Auto if correct. Relabeling and selling to others was very common which suggests that it shouldn't be too hard to find a speaker. Easy to post here in the "want to buy" or other forums. A lot of people have spare parts.
Good luck on your hunt.
Jerry

Possibly the radio your looking at?

http://www.radiomuseum.org/r/western_au_d699.html

What is interesting is the schematic in Nos Air calls for PP 6F6s, while the Radio Museum calls for PP 42s. Electronically they are the same.