Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Discussion About McMurdo Silver V vs. VI Radios

I have a McMurdo Silver Masterpiece V in the Clifton Cabinet. It was beautifully restored by Phil Bartels but after only twenty minutes of playing the speaker voice coil went off center and now it sounds awful. John Goller told me there are ways to re-center a voice coil without reconing. Of course I want to try that and will have Chuck take the Super Giant speaker to his guy to try. If he can't do it, I want it returned untouched. Why? Just saw one that buzzes sell on ebay for 6,200 while one reconed brought only 1,500.00. The rest of the radio was parted out and UNRESTORED it brought 10,500.00 which does not include a chrome radio cover. I would gladly sell my V for that price and regretfully part it out to get that kind of money, I would only lose 1,500.00 since I paid 13K for it. BUT what I don't know--and what I hope some of you can give me advice on--is the difference in value and desirability between a V and VI. Mine is also in a refinished Clifton cabinet like the one on ebay.

Sam

I have a Masterpiece VI with a Clifton cabinet. I wrote about it in this thread when I acquired it just over three years ago.

Unfortunately, as you probably know, far too many Masterpiece V and VI sets have had their Jensen Super-Giant 18 inch speakers pulled to sell to the "audiophools" in Asia who are more than willing to shell out big buck$$$$$ for these speakers.

My MP VI was missing its original speaker.

I haven't looked lately, but when I was considering biting the bullet and going for a Masterpiece V or VI, I saw a few with a cabinet - but without the speaker - sell in the $2000 to $2500 range. Three years ago, the speakers were selling in the $5000 to $8000 range.

I don't think there is any difference in value between a V and a VI. The "value" in these sets is, again, in the speaker.