Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Mystery Halson radio model 15 Pg 6 electrical issues

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to radio collecting but I got this Halson radio that no one can identify. It clearly states model 15? but I cant find it anywhere online.
I attached pics so any help from the professionals would be great.

Attached Files Image(s)

I'll look around on this. Is it possible to get a shot of the dial face and the riveted plate next to the model number? I'm wondering if it is a 'Plant A' radio. Thanks, Joe

Joe

Matthew 16:26 "For what does it profit a man if he gain the whole world, yet lose his own soul?"

here are some pics.

Here's what I've been able to find. I can find no reference to a Halson model 15, or a Halson 4-tube radio with a 6A7 tube in the mix. They did make at least four 4-tube radios with a 6C6, 6D6, 25Z5, 43, and the L49B ballast tube. They would be the models 5LE, 5L-E, T5, and T10, none of which really look like yours. Federal Purchases also sold the Acratone 5E, 5F, and 5G with the same tube mix. Finally, Halson was known to produce radios for private labeling by department stores, etc.

Where does that leave you? It wouldn't be the last time that a radio has been purchased and one or more tubes in it aren't correct. Is there another name anywhere on the chassis or cabinet? If so, that may give an indication who Halson produced this for. Let me know. Joe

Joe

Matthew 16:26 "For what does it profit a man if he gain the whole world, yet lose his own soul?"

I found this but it is one tube off.
Model 161
Manufacturer / Brand: Halson Radio Mfg. Co.
Year: 1937 ?? Type: Radio - or past WW2 tuner
Valves / Tubes 4: 6A7 6C6 25L6G 25Z5
Principle Super-Heterodyne (Super in general); ZF/IF 456 kHz; 1 AF stage(s)
Tuned circuits 4 AM circuit(s)
Wave bands Broadcast only (MW).
Details
Power type and voltage AC/DC-set / 110-120 Volt
Loudspeaker Electro Magnetic Dynamic LS (moving-coil with field excitation coil)
Power out