Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Silvertone 1720 Information

Hello,

I recently purchased what I think is a Slivertone Challanger. I was wondering if any of you could confirm that for me? And give me any information you can about it.

I am new to the whole antique radio thing. I bought it because it just looks so neat! Thanks for any help.

Attached Files Image(s)

http://www.radiomuseum.org/r/sears_roeb_1720_1.html

Are you going to restore it, or just make it stand there as a piece of furniture?
Restoration can be somewhat expensive unless done by self which requires some skills and involves some dangers.

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

It works already. I don't know how much we will use it though. I just wanted to find out if in fact I was correct in identifying it and any history behind it. Also what, if at all it's worth.

Maybe a hundred or 2 as far as I have researched.

Rarer set but it doesnt have that much desire in the current collector market.

Kirk

Times I have been electrocuted in 2021
As of 1/01/2021
AC: 4 DC: 1
Last year: 6

Hi LisaC, welcome to the Phorum!!  Looks like its in nice shape but unless the electronics have been recently restored its best not to plug it in.  Capacitors and resistors are suspect after this many years.   As for value, unrestored, I'd say maybe $75 to $125.  What did you pay?  That's a good measure of value too! Others on here, may have a better/different read on value as well.  I agree its s nice looking radio.  If you are thinking of restoring the cabinet, use toning and clear lacquers....folks here can help you through it.  (If you want to paint it white and "antique it" or polyurethane it, you'll see lots of frowny faces here  Icon_cry