Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 46-1209 Code 121

Hello,
This is my first post after lurking for a bit. I am relatively new to all of this radio business, having recapped 1 Admiral 5X12N successfully so far, and having limited success on a Motorola 57CC1, a Philco F-809, and a Crosley 58TA.

I have now picked up a 46-1209 code 121. After getting a copy of the Sams Photofact and ordering caps and resistors I took time to get somewhat familiar with what I was looking at underneath the chassis.

The AM section worked although it had some loud hum, and was very weak volume-wise, no audible signal of the shortwave, and the phono works as expected. I started recapping and checking resistors as I worked through the chassis and quickly realized even though it was a large chassis, that things were still very tightly packed. (I have tried up until this point to replace the entire component, but found it necessary to clip leads on a few and wrap new leads to them hoping to prevent damage from the soldering iron.)

So far, I have replaced all three electrolytics, all paper caps but 1 which is buried underneath the band switch wafers, and a large majority of the resistors. My first power up after replacing these was a success in that nothing burned up, but I had no sound from the AM band at all and saw that the plates in the 7X7 tube were glowing so I shut everything down.

Back to the bench. I started tracing all of the components I had replaced until this point (lesson learned: check work periodically) and found that I had swapped two resistors accidentally on the 6V6, the 2nd IF Plate Decoupling resistor (1000 ohm) and one of the output grid resistors (330K ohm), and used the wrong value on the other output grid resistor. I corrected these and closely inspected my other work and did not find anything standing out.