Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

half the tubes check bad

I got a 48-1263 some time back and yesterday I got around to recapping it. Someone had already been there and I only had to replace 4 paper/wax caps and both can caps and one 15K resistor that was reading 27K. Plugged it in and got nothing but dial lights glowing. I checked the tubes and 4 of the 8 showed bad or questionable. Is this likely or is my old Heathkit tester on the fritz? When I picked it up the owner had it turned on with the turntable running to show me "it works". I  immediately unplugged it and took it home, but could she have done something then that wrecked those tubes? Yes, I am very new to restoring radios. Help! 

Bad or weak tubes on a tester don't always translate into non functioning tubes. I would start by doing voltage checks (assuming you have a DMM) on the tube pins to make sure they are within reason of what is provided on the schematic. What other testing tools (sig gen, tracer, etc...) so you have, if any?

There are more to the radio than just tubes. RF coils that can get open, oxidized panels and switches, speaker, transformer.....so, start telling us what you have checked so far.

People who do not drink, do not smoke, do not eat red meat will one day feel really stupid lying there and dying from nothing.

It's also possible that the tester is not reading properly. 

Which model Heathkit are you using??

Also unclear about the radio as displayed to you in the shop: was it actually receiving radio stations? 

(07-13-2015, 12:04 PM)Nick3092 Wrote:  Bad or weak tubes on a tester don't always translate into non functioning tubes. I would start by doing voltage checks (assuming you have a DMM) on the tube pins to make sure they are within reason of what is provided on the schematic. What other testing tools (sig gen, tracer, etc...) so you have, if any?

I have a multimeter and an old heathkit signal generator.