Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Suggestions for a good digital signal/function generator?

I want to get away from the old Clough-Brengle signal generator I've been using for a few decades now and get something where I can punch in the desired output frequency and know it will be accurate. It needs to have internal modulation, cover frequencies from longwave up to at least 30 MHz or so (60 MHz would be better), and have a sweep function.

And I don't want to spend thousand$ of dollar$ to get this.

I began to see the need for something like this when attempting to align my RCA C15-3 and my Hammarlund HQ-129-X, both of which want a sweep generator for IF alignment. Plus, both needed something more accurate than that old Clough-Brengle. Even running the C-B through a frequency counter, it is not possible for me to get, say, 455 kHz dead on at 455.000 kHz.

I've been looking at these two:

https://www.amazon.com/Koolertron-Genera...J8BZB0BHS1

https://www.amazon.com/Generator-KKmoon-...=8-1-fkmr0

Advice, people, please...

and thanks in advance.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Hi Ron,

Those both look good - I have used this (slightly simpler) unit quite successfully, priced around $66:

https://www.amazon.com/Generator-KKmoon-...ial&sr=1-2

A warning though: the output does require some protection, as I managed to zap one channel connecting to a radio before thinking.... That warning would apply to any of these modern inexpensive generators. For IF and other alignment work, it is easy to use, and spot-on in frequency. I've used it on AM and FM circuits with good results, and the low frequency range allows for 19 kHz injection for stereo multiplex circuit alignments.

I bought a second unit, and use the first as the master oscillator for my SW beacon. It allows me to fine tune within 10's of Hertz and stays there.

Cheers,

Ed

I don't hold with furniture that talks.

Yes, digital generator is way more convenient.