Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

E Capacitors

I'm sure this is a newbie question, but when choosing electrolytic capacitors which is a better choice.
I'm repairing an audio generator and the old cap is 20uF @ 350V and I have two options to purchase 22uF @ 350V or 20uF @ 450V, which would you choose?

22 uF @ 350 VDC is fine. Just make sure it is a good, reputable brand (my preferences are Nichicon or Panasonic).

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Ron, two follow up questions: 
In the example above, you opted for the higher uF vs higher voltage. I’ve heard it’s ok and preferable to go with the higher voltage, but is there a limit on the uF? Lastly, is there a way to definitively identify an e-cap? I found a capacitor rated @ .05uf 600VDC (I thought if it were DC it was an Ecap)

No, no. I'm no engineer, nor do I play one on TV. And I'm afraid I don't have time right now for a detailed answer, but -

Yes there is a limit on how high you go in uF. 22 uF for 20 is perfectly fine. 200 uF for 20 is too much. In tube rectifier power supplies, you risk causing problems when you go too high in uF so try to keep it as close to original as possible. 450V is OK to replace 350V, but in the case of electrolytics, there really is no need.

Most (if not all) capacitors have a working voltage rated in DC. Some are rated for AC applications (motor start, motor run, "safety" capacitors) and will have an AC rating as well. Just because a capacitor is rated in VDC does not make it an electrolytic.

Mike, Terry...help me out here...

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Ok, thank you Ron. That eases up some confusion.

Ron,

You've summed it up pretty much.

I will add this: there are reasons we have different types of capacitors, and even amongst the Al Can Lytics of the same capacitance and voltage one will find several types. And this is even if we only consider one reputable manufacturer, let's say Panasonic or Rubicon, or Nichicon, or Chemi-con.