Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

c- c+ on old battery radios

hey everyone ,i have a freshman masterpiece battery set not sure the number but i have pictures that i will upload .i have a battery eliminator with c battery hook ups c+ -3.0,-4.5,-9.0,-16.5 and -22.5.when the wire hook up from the radio says c+ that is easy when it calls for c- where does it go ?c- what .are c voltages still important can they be tied off with something else. thanks.

Fortunately C battery voltages are not high, so I just make my own using modern batteries. I solder the terminals together. Some liquid flux made from powdered violin rosin and rubbing alcohol helps with this. Make a suitable box from white cardboard, and there you are. The drain is so low that a series of C cells hooked up will last for years. You can also tap them off to get -3, -4.5, .-6, -9 volts, or whatever you need.

You will need to know exactly what model Freshman you have. Some are with "C" battery, some without.

"Most" schematics for the Freshmen can be found online. Download and review if it is correct for your radio.

The schematic will identify the "C" voltage required. Sometimes a radio will use two "C" voltage, usually because of the last audio tube type.

Generally, if all the tubes are '01a then the "B" voltage will be 67-1/2 for no "C" battery. For "B" voltage of 90 volts a "C" battery will be 4-1/2 volts.

You will need to know what tube is used for the last audio stage to get it correct... A 112 or a 171a will need both a higher "C" and "B" voltage.

If you are using '99 tubes and socket adapters the "A" voltage will be 4-1/2 volts.

Without any "C" battery connected the radio may play for a moment and stop. If the "C-" is connected to A+B- connection essentially jumping out the "C" circuit, the radio will play with a maximum of 67-1/2 "B", no more.