Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

46-350

I'm new at radio restoration but am diligently studying repair books every evening.  My candohm in this 46-350 appears to be bad.  I'm somewhat unsure of the new attaching points for replacement resistors. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

There are two ways to approach this. First is to measure each section of the candohm in question to find the bad section or sections. Solder a resistor of the same resistance and sufficient wattage across each of the the bad sections. The other is to remove the old candohm entirely and put a long terminal strip in the same location, then put suitable resistors across sections of the terminal strip, connect the wires where they go, and solder everything in place. The latter is often preferable when dealing with a canohm where one section is bad, since another section may go bad soon. The first method works OK when all sections of the candohm are bad and you can use the old candohm itself as the terminal strip. I have used both methods.

A very clear, logical explanation. Thank you for this excellent advice!