Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 84 Baby Grand help and advice!

Hello all! I was given this Philco 84 Baby Grand (early make) from my grandmother before she passed away. I plugged it in today and the bulbs in the back (possibly original?) lit up and got hot after a few minutes. There was also a low humming noise coming from it, but when I moved the dial, I couldn’t hear anything, just the hum. I have ZERO experience with electronics and no idea what I should be doing or looking for. The cloth screen in front where the speaker is has some tears in it, I assume from old age and some bad handling. I don’t know what I have here, so I’m wondering if it’s worth anything, or should be restored. The veneer looks pretty good I think. How easy do you think it would be for a novice to tackle on trying to fix it? Any and all opinions and advice is welcome! Thanks in advance!

A word of advice: do NOT turn it on again. The hum is from components (capacitors) that are bad and need to be replaced. these are life limited components and are way beyond their expected lifespan. You risk burning out difficult to find components if you do not replace all of the capacitors. If you are not capable of doing that yourself, find a qualified person to do it for you. There are people here on this phorum who can help. Nice keepsake from your Grandmother! Take care of it properly.

PS: Welcome!

Good Morning and welcome,
>I plugged it in today and the bulbs in the back (possibly original?) lit up and got hot after a few minutes.

Not a good idea to give it a try before having a look to see if it's had any service work done on it. Can cause damage to expensive parts. Those glass thingies called "bulbs" are commonly known as tubes. Your set has 4 and one dial lamp.

>I have ZERO experience with electronics and no idea what I should be doing or looking for.