Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Advice needed on purchasing a Philco 40-165

Hello,
I have been searching the web most of the day looking for info on the 40-165 floor radio. I found one in excellent cosmetic shape, but is not playing.
Does anyone know the good,the bad and the ugly about this radio style ? I like the smaller size of this radio, I am a beginner to collecting radios. I have
been collecting older (1950 ish) turntables and my interests have expanded to radios. I am going to restore an AA5 radio to learn on before trying this one.
Just wondering how good the shortwave is on this radio, as well as is there any problematic quirks with it ? All advice is appreciated !
Thanks, Dan

Ok, I bought this radio (40-165) I am going to work on a few AA5 radios before taking on this one. But in the meantime I want to start collecting info (which seems hard to find, based on this post) Is the Book "Philco Radio 1928-1942: A Pictoral History Of The World's Most Popular Radios" a good place to start ? or does this cover to big a range of radios to help me ? Just collecting info on this radio, I enjoying learning about my projects before diving in. I have read posts on this forum about the rubber wire's, sounds like fun ! I plan on replacing all rubber wires and capacitors. Just collecting info, all help is appreciated.
Dan

Hi Dan

Congratulations on your acquisition!

I know all about that "Philco Radio" book; I wrote it 18 years ago (wow, has it really been that long?). Icon_smile I've learned a lot more about the subject of Philco since then, a lot of which I've tried to share on my website and here in the Phorum.

But I digress...the book covers Philco models made, as the title implies, between the years 1928 and 1942. Once I finish rebuilding my website's Philco Radio Gallery, you won't really need the book, but you can still feel free to purchase it if you like.