Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

GE S-22 electrolytic help

This is my first post and I hope I didn’t put it in the wrong area of the site. My background is woodworking not electronics as you will be able to tell from my questions. Hopefully I can get some needed assistance.

http://nucow.com/GE%20S-22-X%20ca%20sche...manual.htm

I am a rookie at restoring vintage radios and unfortunately not versed in reading schematics yet but I was given a GE S-22 that needs a lot of work. 

I do have both the schematic and a wiring diagram and it may be heresy but I can follow the basics of the wiring diagram, not the schematic at this time. I am continually reading about schematics but it doesn’t come naturally to me.

I have rebuilt the capacitor block, replaced resistors but have come to a dead end with the two electrolytics C17 and C18. I have nothing but two holes where these two caps once were. They may have been Mershon caps and someone removed them. I don’t know. My problem is I don’t know how to install my new caps and get the polarity correct. There is a existing unconnected red wire from the 1st Det coil that I assume went to C17 as well as another unconnected red wire from the resister terminal board that I assume went to C18. I’m assuming the + connections for C17 and C18 are these two red wires.

When reading other posts about the GE S-22 and the RCA 7A, which is supposed to be the same, I saw that restorers would clean out the old electrolytic, put a new cap inside it and solder the negative to the top of cap. In another post, it was mentioned that one of the electrolytics on the RCA 7-A was isolated from the chassis. Unfortunately again I don’t know how to determine if that is the case with my GE S-22 and if so what to do to correct the issue.