Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

An Introduction and a Philco 90 issue.

Hi all...brand new to this site and vintage radio message boards in general.  I have just picked up this hobby, buying non-working radios from the 1930s and 1940s and getting them back to cosmetic originality and reliable function.  I'm 61 years old and I live just outside Philadelphia PA.  I've been something of a "professional hobbiest" for over 40 years!  I've been a prolific woodworker and turned by attentions to acoustic guitar building over the last 15 years (over 50 built!).  I've worked on, repaired and restored mechanical watches for longer than that.  I'm a scientist by profession so I know a little about electricity and theory...so I thought I might try my hand at this! 

I'll confess, my restoration experience so far is a few AA5s and a Philco 37-650 and amounted to nothing more than cleaning, recapping and replacing resistors on a one for one basis.  I may ask some very stupid questions.  I also intend to stick around...not swoop in for a few answers in my first and only 10 posts and then disappear!

Here's what's presently going on.  I bought a beautiful and all original Philco 90 lowboy from 1931.  It had stayed in one family and had been stored for the last 40 years.  Sometime during its life, it was refinished with a very thick and dark stain and was practically black.  The veneers were delaminating and the top had a broken edge.  I pulled the chassis and got to work on the cabinet.  After a month of work, this is how it turned out: