Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

1951 Chrysler radio

Hello,

I am new to radio repair and maintenance. We are restoring a 1951 Chrysler New Yorker (6V, positive ground) and the original radio does not work at all. This vehicle sat for at least 3 decades, but in general is in good, unmolested condition. All the removable radio parts are labeled Philco. We have power to the two-part radio (now on my bench) but the vibrator does not hum. According to the Chrysler Service Manual, this indicates the vibrator is the next thing to check. The manual recommends flashing the vibrator by removing the 14-amp fuse and striking the contacts together. This did not remedy the problem. The manual is silent on what else to do.

So, what should my next steps be? The vibrator is a Philco 83-0035; the electrolytic condenser is a Philco 61-0086. A quick internet search failed to reveal original-style replacements. I would like to restore this radio to near-original working condition. Are there available replacements for the vibrator and condenser? Any general advice on how to safely revive a long-dormant radio?

Thank you very much; I look forward to any recommendations you can provide!

Mike

Welcome to the Phorum, Mike! Plenty of pholks here to bounce questions off. Someone is sure to have suggestions. Take care and BE HEALTHY! Gary

"Don't pity the dead, pity the living, above all, those living without love."
Professor Albus Dumbledore
Gary - Westland Michigan

Thank you, Gary. I have a lot to learn.

Mike

Info on a solid state vibrator hope this helps.  https://philcoradio.com/phorum/showthrea...#pid189441

I'd recommend picking up a solid-state replacement vibrator.

https://www.tubesandmore.com/products/vi...bile-radio

Make sure you choose the one for positive ground