Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Model 70 Detector Coil/Transformer

This is my first attempt at fixing this, so go easy on me! Icon_smile 
The Primary winding is open, and according to the schematic it is Part# 03083. one of the wires was broken near the solder terminal, but there must be another, or more breaks elsewhere. So I plan to rewind the primary.
I found in the Library the "Rewinding Philco Coils" information, which is a big help, but I want to confirm some information.
The links to the www.philcorepairbench.com don't appear to work, and I tried going directly there, and no luck either. It looks like there should be 69 turns of #32AWG for the primary. I can try to count the turns when I remove the existing winding to confirm. It looks like there are 2 layers of windings for the Primary. If so, I think there are more than 69 turns, but I will check that and plan to use the same number of turns as the original.
I don't have any #32, but I do have #34. Would that be OK, or is it critical to use #32?
Anything else I need to be aware of? I know direction of the wrap is important.
What do most people use when finished to help keep the windings in-place? I think it used a wax originally.
Thanks in advance!

Attached Files Image(s)

Thanks
John N3MUN

Use the same size wire.

I have rewound using my methods and got a good coil. But methods by others may be just as well.

Do, map the coil form to paper so you can stop at any time for a break and continue later.

I used heated beeswax, melts higher temperature than paraffin. I also coated the bare form with a thin layer of bees wax as it is tacky, paraffin is slippery. I used a thin layer of PETE plastic to replace the decomposed celluloid liner.

GL

Chas

Pliny the younger
“nihil novum nihil varium nihil quod non semel spectasse sufficiat”

Thanks Chas! Appreciate the tips!

Thanks
John N3MUN