Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Restoring 38-4 finish

I have had a Philco Model 38-4 for 33 years. It used to work fine but hasn't in some years now. I've finally decided to fix and restore it but I am a complete novice. Specifically I'm concerned with the finish which is generally okay except for some bleached areas as in the attached photo. Can someone recommend how I might go about fixing these spots and generally restoring the original finish?

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/2-...directlink

Hi Larry and welcome!
The area along the edge of your cabinet is missing the finish. Originally Philco used a toned lacquer to color the wood.I would carefully mask off light area on the cabinet with the LEAST sticky masking tape and paper. Sand lightly with 400 or 600G paper just to take off any rough edges from the original finish.
Respray with toned lacquer to match the original. Then a coat or two of gloss clear lacquer to protect the toned lacquer.
Terry

When my pals were reading comic books
I was down in the basement in my dad's
workshop. Perusing his Sam's Photofoacts
Vol 1-50 admiring the old set and trying to
figure out what all those squiggly meant.
Circa 1966
Now I think I've got!

Terry

Thanks for the advice. I'll give it a try. If anyone can recommend a specific product I'd appreciate the tip. Also I'm assuming the entire cabinet should then be given an application of something, a wax maybe? Otherwise she's endured all these years of storage and moves remarkably well (cosmetically).

Okay, can anyone tell me what color(s) toned lacquer to use when touching up the finish on my 38-4? There are so many shades and it's really hard to tell from swatches, especially because the fluted areas appear darker than the flat front.

I would suggest Medium Walnut toner over the majority of the cabinet, with some Perfect Brown on the trim for a little contrast.

--
Ron Ramirez
Ferdinand IN

Hi,