Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Hello and a 37-675

Hello...I'm Greg...and some of you already know that. I've been tinkering with old radios for about 7 yrs but have been a "user" since the late 60's. I'm finishing up a Crosley Super 11 now, and a Zenith 6D311 is next. After that, my "Big Dog", a 37-675! 8)

I've done nothing to it so far, other than pull the chassis and clean the tubes. Yes, it's barn fresh. The finish on the cabinet, a real piece of furniture, may be savable, if not, it will be hired out. It deserves better than my refinishing abilities!

Anyway, thanks to forums like this, I know where to begin, but I still have a couple of questions. After the power supply and tuning mechanism, where would you go, the "main" chassis or RF chassis? Also, why didn't Philco put a speaker plug on this? Icon_evil This radio is quality throughout, yet they omit a plug?

Thanks for your help!

Greg

-Greg

Hello, Greg: wow, a 37-675 is a swell set and well worth doing right. Color me envious!

Since you have been doing this awhile I will refrain from the basics, which I am sure that you already know. What I will say is to be VERY CAREFUL when getting into the RF deck. The components there are difficult if not impossible to get to without some major de-soldering of other components that are in the way. As you know, the old wiring in these sets is not good about being disturbed, so you may end up with a major re-wiring project here. I have discovered that the electrolytic capacitor mounted on the RF deck can be tough, the one on my 37-670 had 3 values contained in it, so that is 3 modern caps that you must find room for. IF you do decide to do some "major surgery" here, I would consider replacing the RF deck's rubber bushings, as they are often pretty worn.

The rest of the 37-__ radios are pretty much straightforward.

Oh yes, the speaker plug..... that is frustrating especially since many, but not all, Philco sets made previously had the plug.