Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Need some help

I am new to both this site and to restoration of my Philco radio and I have a couple questions I hope you can help me with. The chassis is type 14 with a code 121.
I aquired this radio some 20+ years ago and at one time it did work. Over the years it has sat unused and untouched (I did replace the fabric in front of the speaker a few years ago). I would love to get it back in playing condition.
Today I plugged it in and turned it on thinking I could see that all the tubes lit up. Well they all did except for a type 80 that was broken. Then I smelled the transformer getting too hot, in fact it started smoking so I unplugged it and have pulled the chassis out of the cabinet.
I am looking to try to find a transformer to replace ole smokey. The transformer has Philco 6804 stamped on the bottom. I have tried to search the web for this replacement but have not been succesful so I am hoping you can direct me where to look. I have not desoldered any of the wires yet because I want to do them when i replace so i don't screw up where they go.
Looking forward to all the help and ideas you can give me.

Hi

Perhaps it will help if you have the specifications of the original:

High voltage secondary - 700 volts center-tapped (VCT), 135 mA
Filaments - 6.3 volts center-tapped, 3.5 amps
Rectifier filament - 5 volts, 2 amps

A Hammond HX-273BX will be an excellent replacement for the original. The Hammond is a vertical mounting transformer like the original, and it has higher current capacity than the original. Pricey at $78.06 from Radio Daze, but still cheaper than a Heyboer custom-made transformer.

This is why an old radio should never be plugged in until it has been thoroughly checked out for trouble such as bad electrolytic capacitors (and 75+ year old electrolytics are usually bad). The consequences of plugging in an old radio can be costly!

http://www.philcoradio.com/tech/plugin.htm