Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Replacing rubber insulated wiring

Hi everyone, I'm new to this radio thing and admit that I have a tremendous amount to learn.
I have a couple of 42-PT94's that I'm going to try to re-cap and see where it goes from there. The wiring is rubber insulated and some of it looks pretty cruddy, some crumbling. What wire should I use to replace with? Stranded cloth insulated, 20 ga.? Solid vinyl insulated 22 ga.? Are colors just to visually be able to trace them, or is there a color code that I need to adhere to?

Thanks for your help now and for all that I'll need down the road.

Alan

Hello Alan and welcome.

That old crumbling wiring is the pits to deal with. There are usually two roads people generally take when dealing with it. Unsolder one end of a wire and slide the same (or close) color heat shrink over the wire, and reconnect. The other road is more tedious and time consuming that would be removing the wires one at a time and replace with the same color wire. I use either strand or solid wire from the 18 - 22 gauge size.

My opinion is to use the same color or as close to the original as possible, as this will help if you run into a problem down the road and someone with the same radio tries to help out.

I get my wire from here. They have every color you would need.
http://www.wesbellwireandcable.com/UL101...20-10.html

-Keith

Hi Alan, and welcome!

Keith has given you some good advice. I also resleeve the original wires with color-coded heat shrink tubing. A heat gun set on low, or an Aladdin lamp, will shrink the tubing for you.

A comment on what Keith said re: using the same colors as the original. I have run across Philcos of the same model number that do not use the same color rubber insulation. It appears that at times, they just used whatever they had on hand at the time rather than adhering to any sort of a standard. It looks like they only adhered to a standard on IF transformer leads, for the most part.