Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Which Philco radio to restore next? A 38-620 or a 41-256?

Hi all, This is my first post to this phorum so I hope I'm in the right place asking the right questions. First of all, I'm pretty new to radio repair but I've been visiting this phorum on a regular basis to read and learn all about radio repair and restoration. I am amazed how knowledgeable and helpful the membership is. A big THANK YOU to Ron for starting this website. It is so helpful and goes a long way to keeping these Philcos playing. Phil's old radios website was really helpful, too.
First, a little background. I know how to solder and use a DVM, but I'm not an electronics person. So after lots of reading "how to do it radio repair articles", I picked up a 7 tube 1937 General Electric F70 radio on Craigs List. I was told it worked when I got it which is a big step in the right direction for a newbie. I very carefully replaced 13 capacitors, 4 electrolytic capacitors and 7 resisters. And I changed out some of that old rotted rubber wire, too. I replaced everything exactly right, one step at a time. It didn't get all blowed up or nuthin' when I turned it on Icon_lol ! I do have some questions about this radio, but I realize this is a Philco phorum so I'll save those questions for ARF. My questions concern my next project.