Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

48-1262 No Sound!

Hi, I'm new here, and I appreciate all of the info so far.

I purchased a 48-1262 a few days ago. I carefully turned it on using the light bulb method, and was surprised that everything worked properly. It got great reception and great sound.

Over the next few hours I turned the radio on and off 6 or so times. The last time, I turned it off and ran some erands. When I came back about an hour later, I turned the radio on but got no sound at all. No static, or hum, just pure silence.

The light bulb for the display works. The tubes all glow. There were no pops, smoke or anything else to indicate something bad had happened.

I am in the proscess of finding a tube checker (send me a message if you have one for sale), and getting the materials together to do a full cap and resistor change. I am an electrical engineer and have experience reading schematics, soldering, using a multi meter, etc.

Although this no sound problem could be alot of things, and I'm sure you can not diagnose something you can not see, what could be the potential causes of this, and where should someone start to diagnose this issue?

All of your responses will be appreciated.

Pure guess is best we can do at this point, but we do try.

Without proper restoration you have probably at least toasted a resistor in the voltage divider system which was feeding a failing capacitor. Don't power up again until a proper recap job is done.

Agreed. I am in the proscess of getting everything together that I will need for the recap and resistor replace. Hopefully that will take care of no sound.

If anyone else has any other guess it would be appreciated also.