Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Introduction and questions regarding a Philco 112A

Hello,

My name is Jim, and I am a total newbie when it comes to radios. We were fortunate enough to get a Philco 112A at an auction. Now then, on the plate on the back of the radio, it says it was made in Toronto, Ontario. Thus, this might explain the "A"? I've only found the Philco 112 Lowboy on Ron's site, and that fits it to a tee. I believe it may be one of Norman Bel Geddes designs, but, I don't know for sure. To make a long story shorter, the radio stopped working. Tubes seem to still light, etc, but, no audio at all. I see that there is two configurations for the tube layout. I don't know where to find the
the serial number. Within the 2 configurations it shows what the layout is
"above serial number 174,001" and the other shows the layout "below serial number 174,001"

I don't know where to start, so, I turn to you good folks. I understand that we are dealing with high voltages, etc, so, I won't go digging around without knowing exactly what to do.

So, what should I start looking for?

Thanks for any assistance; this is a great Phorum!!
I am looking forward to learning all about these radios!

All the best,

Jim

Hi and welcome! Icon_smile

The "A" does, indeed, signify the Canadian/Canadien version. The only difference is the values of the filter caps and the power transformer rated for 25 Hz power mains. It will work fine on 60Hz.

The Model 112 is a very nice set and a good performer.

DO NOT plug the set in any more until it can be fully restored. Permanent damage to irreplaceable components can result.

If you are not electronically inclined, I would suggest finding an antique radio club in your vicinity to help you. Many clubs have members who offer restoration services. To find a club near you, see the Radio Club Listing here: http://www.antiqueradio.com/clublist.html

Good Luck and let us know how it goes. Icon_smile