Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Help with Troubleshooting on a Philco 71

Hi guys, I bought this 71 cathedral at the Lansing show a few weeks ago. It is my first cathedral, but not my first Philco, I have several others that are also ready for restoration. I am going to move back and forth from this set and a Philco 38-93. A complete re stuffing and as close to original as possible restoration will be made on both.

This 71, I have already looked over the set, you can see the original cans have been disconnected with a "newer, hack job" electrolytic can suspended in the wiring. After looking over everything else and noticing the electrolytic, I did a slow power-up on the variac to test the transformer, which was a success, it's good. I cleaned up the tubes, cross checked all seven and tested each. The 42 st in the set is weak, but will do what is needed until I can track down a replacement. The set looks to be all orginal, but I am no expert on the 71.

I did eventually power up to 115 volts, which is what this set is rated to run at. The pilot lamp and all tubes lit up, no strange signals, smells, or noises were noticed. As the set warmed up, I was not able to pick up any stations, tone control has a click sound when changed, so I know it works, the volume control also works, and sound from those two pot's are heard over the speaker, as well as a general static like sound. After examining the mica sheets on the trimmer caps, not so good. The third mica sheet (Farthest to right in the 3 gang picture), sitting closest to the 42 tube looks to be cracked and lifted up ward. the first mica sheet (Farthest to left) also is flaking quite a bit. Looks like I will have to replace them, I have no experience with this section of a tube radio, other than a simple alignment done on another set before. I will have to tackle this problem before I can move on to anything else, with no reception, there is no point in re stuffing until I could pick up some type of station.