Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

voltage on tube heater 46-350

newbie here got the old girl working by recapping and replaced rect tube am concerned about the voltage diff from the 40 till now should there be a problem with raising the voltage from 115 to 120? i figure it may be hard on filament heaters Icon_crazy

Hi Mountain man and Welcome to the Phourm!
Wouldn't lose any sleep over the filament voltage. (Tubes with a cathode have a heater. Tubes without a cathode have a filament).Some of those 1.5v tubes have to run with 1.5v or a little better especially the 1R5. If you have any other questions you may want to start your own thread on the matter. It will be a little less confusing. Tnx for stopping by.
GL
Terry

thanks for the info Terry it was just that the schematic shows 8.4 on tube heaters and at 123 vac this number is over that voltage considerably.

Concerned about the higher operating voltages from 1946 110 to 2013 123vac in my area, this will raise heater voltages over 8.5 volts, I read that a power resistor may be in order, what type and size? also on alignment procedure it calls for an output meter to be attached to speaker terminals is this a volt meter?

Resistors can be used to counter high line voltages, but either a bucking transformer or Variac mounted separately is a more efficient idea. Neither of them produces the heat as a resistor in the job would.

Any AC voltmeter with appropriate range can be used as an output meter, as you are just reading audio levels on the output, after using a tone modulated signal generator to accomplish set alignment.

Dennis

Pacing the cage...

To add to Dennis's comments you probably want to use an analog meter just easier to read. It will be set on the low setting for AC volts.
A bucking transformers an easy way to knock down the line voltage.
GL
Terry