Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

46-350 works too well

I've just finished getting the 46-350 working well (had to replace the output transformer), and the problem I have is that it;s working TOO well. I can't get the volume all the way down. It seems to settle somewhere in the mid-range, and I can't completely silence a station. I checked the volume control for shorts and proper values and everything seems in spec. I replaced a couple of out of spec resistors along the way as well with no difference.
I'm not a newbie, but I'm not a pro at this either. Anyone ever have this 'problem'?

Bill

I had a similar problem with one of my ex-wives......

The output transformer was bad on my 46-350 also. I got a second one and used the original for parts. Where did you get your replacement?

Just on general principles, could the AVC in your radio be open somewhere if you can't bring station volumes down to reasonable levels? I'm definitely not clear on how the AVC works on this radio, but it looks like the AVC voltage is filtered inside the 2nd IF can. It might be that R302, 22K Ohm, which (I think) is inside that can, is open. If not, there might be other resistors in the AVC circuit that are open.

Philco's number for that can is Z301. I'm pretty sure their intention was for you to replace the whole can instead of replacing components, so they don't show the location of the components inside it in their service package, but both the Philco and Rider schematics show that resistor surrounded by a dotted line along with the If transformer coils and other components.

There is also a 2.2 Mohm resisitor R301. I'm probably missing something, but I don't see you can get your AVC voltage without going through those 2 resistors.

John Honeycutt

Thanks, John, that gives me a direction to look. I didn't consider the AVC.
I bought the output transformer from AES - part# P-TA-8037 (5k primary, 3.2 ohm secondary)

My suggestion would be to check R3, R17 and C20.