Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Need help with Philco 620

I've got a philco 620 that I can't get going. I'm still very new at repairing radios, so I am sure I've missed something. I do get a very low volume hum from the speaker, but you have to put your ear right next to it to hear it. It is not a tunable hum, nor is it affected by the volume control. If I touch the output lead from the tone control, I get some static. The field coil of the speaker gets very hot, but the speaker checks out fine with my multimeter. This radio had an accessory speaker tapped into the speaker wiring and I got no sound out of it either. It has now been removed, and the wiring restored to original.

I replaced all the caps, and checked the resistors. All of the tubes are good. That's about the extent of my abilities. I've got a feeling that I may have gotten one of the bakelite caps wrong, or missed a connection. If there is anyone near the Cincinnati or N. Ky area who would like to make some extra money, let me know. I really like this radio and I'm very disappointed that I've failed to repair it.

If anyone has any ideas, I need help. Thanks.

The artist formerly known as Puhpow! 8)

Hi All;
I would suggest that the wiring arround and to the Field coil be checked, as it shouldn't get hot.. Check that the field coil is NOT shorted to the chassis..
It may have a short in the winding, but I would first check all of your wiring having to do with the Power Supply and from the Transformer to all the tapped out voltages, from the voltage dividing resistors..
Also check that all of your electrolytics are wired correctly, correct polarity..
Now, some of the other Guys and Gals with more experience may have other suggestions and say I am full of it.. but, it doesn't hurt to check your work, that much I know (from experience) for sure..
THANK YOU Marty