Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 630

A while ago I posted about a recent Philco 630 I purchased. It was a general discussion, as I am new to antique radios. The cabinet restoration can be seen in this thread:

http://www.philcoradio.com/phorum/showth...p?tid=7262

I have now removed the chassis and speaker from the cabinet and intend to bring them to a restorer on Long Island.The radio played when I got it, but shortly thereafter it had the following symptoms: the volume began to decrease over a period of about a minute, there were popping or crackling sounds (I think not from the speaker), and a slight burning smell. I was surprised on looking under the chassis that some electronic components had previously been replaced. I count 6 replaced capacitors (I think) and a couple of other parts, possibly resistors, and possibly some re-sleeved wires. I have attached photos of the top and underside of the chassis. There are a few blobs of wax on the bottom of the cabinet that look recent to me, and a few drips on the wires above. These drips are under the outside edge of the transformer, though I cannot see what their source is. Is there wax in the transformer? Does anyone have any thoughts based on this description what the problem is, just so I have some idea what to expect?

Attached Files Image(s)

That does not look too good. Either the transformer is bad, or there is a short on the power supply line which is causing the transformer to overheat.

You can try removing the type 80 (or it appears 280) tube from its socket and powering up the radio. If you then notice any noises, smells or wax leaking from the transformer, then it is definitely bad.

Mondial,

Thank you for that information. I removed the tube (RCA Radiotron 80) and powered up the chassis. After about a minute I heard a faint crackling which seemed to be coming from the area of the transformer and then a slight burning smell.