Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Looking for assistance with model

Hello all, interesting site with a lot of info.. I am new to Philco radio's but looking forward to learning about them. I got the one below from my dad (because he is running out of room with his) however, I do not know the model # and thought someone here would be able to ID it for me. I am looking for the schematic for it becuase the string that moves the dial came of the pulley wheels in the back. I'm not sure how to get in there and put the string back to its original state. If anyone could help out I'd appreciate it. Thanks. (The pic os on a website I am building for my father in law.)
http://www.garfieldacehardware.com/id69.html

I can't give you the exact model number but I can tell you were to find it on the cabinet or chassis. It appears to be a console version of the this table model , http://radioatticarchives.com/images/p/P...chbaur.jpg It is in the 40-42 model year range and if you can count the tubes that would help also. Normally Philco would stamp on the chassis the model number followed by 121 or 125 etc. so in your case you may see 41-2xxx. Look on the inside of the cabinet to see if there is a piece of paper pasted to it that shows the tube types and locations, if so that would have the model number on it. For schematics you can do a search on the net for the " Philco repair bench" and it will take you to Chuck's site and he sells schematics that show how to repair and restring the radio. Philco sometimes used the radio chassis in several different cabinets types, table model, console, chairside or tombstone.

Thanks for the help. Unfortunately the sticker was ripped off on the inside, I only see about a half an inch off it. I'll keep looking

Thanks again
Kevin

Hi Kevin,

It looks like it might be a 41-260 (1941 model), but let's see what Ron says.