Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Model 645 BC Resistor - Which end is C-?

By way of brief introduction, I started vintage radio/TV restoration a couple of years ago. I have no background in electronics, but I've been able to pick up enough knowledge to keep me going through a few projects.

I picked up a very rusty, rodent-eaten Philco 645 this summer and I'm finally approaching completion of the electronic restoration. I got the full service info from Chuck Schwark, thank goodness.

My set is Run 3--stamped on the top of the chassis, and component changes consistent with Service Bulletin 234--except for two things, but I'm only going to ask about thing #1 at this time.

Bulletin 234: "Part No. 30-4114 (.06 mfd.) was added from the C- end of the B.C. resistor to the junction of resistor (66) and (67)."

That additional tubular cap was definitely not in the set when I opened it, but it has had service done. I want to put in that capacitor, but I don't know which of the three terminals on the BC resistor is the "C- end." (As I said--"no background in electronics")

Can someone tell me which is the C- end?

Thanks,
Winky

Hi Winky and welcome to the Phorum.
The terminal you are looking for is the one that is next to the the ground lug on the BC resistor. It should have a wire connected to it and go to a 1 meg ohm resistor.
OR
IF you connect your volt meter - lead to the ground on the BC resistor. Measure the DC voltage either side of the ground lug. One side will have -10volts or so the other one will have +250 or so. The cap connects to the one with the - voltage.
GL
Terry