Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

New here, looking for help on a T51-2164

I’m new to the Philco forum, joined because a friend dropped off an old B&W cabinet Philco he asked me to see if I could get it to work.  My “normal” tube electronics love is vintage guitar amplifiers which is why the Philco showed up on my doorstep!
So I realize that before I do ANYTHING the old filter caps (can caps) need to be replaced as I seriously doubt the originals have a prayer of functioning properly.  I need to remove the power supply section from the cabinet to do this efficiently, but the anode cable is to short to do so and leave it connected.  My question - can I unsolder the end of the cable from the CRT?  I have looked at the other end and it seems to be soldered solidly into the tube socket.  What’s the best way of dealing with the anode cable issue?
Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks, DanoHSS.

Welcome to the Phorum!
Icon_wave

Several folks on the phorum have some TV experience so hopefully you will get a response soon. If the thread continues I'll move it into the Philco TV section.

Welcome to the Phorum Dano!

Is your anode cable attached to the crt with what looks like a suction cup?  If so then it disconnects there, but you want to discharge it first.  I'll let members who are more knowledgeable on TVs tell you the easiest way to disconnect it instead of the clumsy way I used to do it  Icon_e_wink

A Google search might also show how to do it.  Good luck!

John KK4ZLF
Lexington, KY
"illegitimis non carborundum"

Yes, it has a suction cup but the connection doesn’t seem to be able to easily come off - looks soldered on.  I’m afraid to try and unsolder it until someone confirms its safe to do so

+1 John