Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Philco 39-45... help?

Last summer I stumbled across a $10 Philco console radio tucked away under a couple of worn out wooden lamps at a garage sale. While I do have substantial training with contemporary electronics, I have no experience at all with anything that predates the transistor, but at that price I had to give it a shot.

So far I have made two real mistakes: 1) I didn't remember to take a pre-teardown picture of the chassis until I had already un-mounted or de-soldered most of the wires from the Bakelite capacitor housing; 2) In the pictures I did take, it is not clear where the two black wires from the transformer are attached.

Regarding the black wires, I am fairly sure one of them solders onto the Bakelite housing at the terminal which has the grounding screw in it, but in the schematic I downloaded the other one (other end of the smallest coil in the transformer) ends with a symbol I do not recognize from school (the same symbol can be found on one end of the pilot lamp leads).

If anyone out there has a pic/drawing of how the Bakelite housing should have been connected up before dis-assembly, that would help me a lot at the moment.