Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

New and already smoking(literally)

I am a complete novice with my only experience being recapping an Olympic Radio. Now I don't know what I've got into. I've got a Philco 40-190 that my Uncle's parents bought new. When he gave it to me he had plugged it in and said it smoked so I (being a novice) thought I would recap it and see if it would work as he said it worked 20 years ago when he stopped using it. So I plug it in and yep it smokes. The smoke is coming from a wire wound resistor that comes from the transformer and leads to another resistor among other things. This is #60 on the schematic and is a 150 ohm 1 watt resistor. I did check the resistance and it was about 135 ohms. Where should I look for a cause? Is 135 ohm okay? Any help would be appreciated but you might have to keep it simple as I am trying to learn as I go. Thank you.

All I could tell you is this:

1. Always give a link to the schematic.
2. Never plug in anything you don't know to work.
3. Powering up a device like this after a THOROUGH check is done via a Variac and preferably an isolation transformer also.

It also helps understanding what you are doing.

Let's start from the schematic link.

PS #60 smoking might mean your RF 1232 tube's bad (S to P short).

Schematic is here, in case you don't know where to look. http://www.nostalgiaair.org/Resources/339/M0013339.htm

Are you saying you have or have not recapped it yet? That resistor, I believe, creates the B+ negative bias, so several shorted caps could cause it to overload.

From what I understand he implied he recapped it.

Attached is a link to the schematic. Always nice to put in with your problems. One question Fibber, did you replace at least the electrolytic caps yet? Uncertain from your post.
Jerry

http://www.nostalgiaair.org/PagesByModel...013339.pdf

edit: Others posted the schematic while I was offering it. Sorry. Still no clear if your have replaced the e-caps.