Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

philco 71h severed RF coil winding

Hello. Brand new to the forum and hope that some of you folks can help me out.
First off i have no experience in testing coils, and i know i have alot to learn yet. But looking over the chassis of the 71h i see that the single wire that runs up from the inner RF coil length and attaches to a lug is severed. I have decent soldering skills therefore i'm wondering if i could just solder a piece of 32 gauge wire to repair it? Or would this throw the coil out of wack? If this isnt possible where could one find a replacement coil? Part # is 04339. thanks in advance.!

Are you talking about the gimmick cap wire? This is a wire which connects to the primary winding terminal and wraps around the secondary winding with no actual connection at the opposite end. It serves a a very small coupling cap which increases sensitivity at the high end of the band.

If the actual primary or secondary winding wire is severed where it connects to its terminal, then you can try splicing it with a small piece of similar wire. This should not be a problem as long as you make a reliable solder connection and keep the wire length short.

Welcome to the forum, Dirk.
It's good to have you !

Kenneth

Thanks for the reply Mondial, sorry for not replying sooner as i was on vacation and did not have Internet access.
I do not see a gimmick wire....and cannot find info regarding the wiring to this RF transformer, anyway here is a pic which clearly shows the inner winding wire which i think would connect to the left lug as it seems to be the correct length if i put them together, perhaps this is the oscillator part of the rf transformer? how would i test to make sure these 2 wires indeed connect to each other? thanks in advance for anyones help.